Home » General

Cadillac ATS & Ram 1500 Named North American Car & Truck of the Year

Written By: blarson on January 17, 2013 No Comment

The North American International Auto Show (NAIAS) kicked off bright and early on January 14th, and shortly afterward the winners of the 2013 North American Car and Truck/Utility of the Year were announced. While last year’s winners were the Hyundai Elantra and Land Rover Evoque, finalists in this year’s Car category were the Ford Fusion, Honda Accord and Cadillac ATS, and finalists in this year’s Truck/Utility category were the Mazda CX-5, Ford C-MAX and Ram 1500. Ultimately, the 2013 North American Car of the Year award went to the Cadillac ATS, and the North American Truck/Utility of the Year award went to the Ram 1500.

According to a press release issued by the North American Car of the Year Organizing Committee, the winners were chosen by a panel of 49 automotive journalists.  The journalists hailed from both the United States and Canada, and represented various websites, newspapers, magazines, and television and radio stations.  In the release, the organization said that in order to select a winner, the journalists were instructed to evaluate each vehicle in terms of comfort, design, driver satisfaction, safety, handling and value for the dollar. To be eligible for the award in the first place, a vehicle had to be “substantially changed” from the prior model year.

This year, the Cadillac ATS beat out the other finalists with a score of 207 points to the Honda Accord’s 159 points and the Ford Fusion’s 124 points.  Things weren’t as tight in the Truck/Utility category as the Ram 1500 earned 261 points to the Mazda CX-5’s 142 points and the Ford C-MAX’s 81 points. The Ram 1500 win marked the third time a Chrysler vehicle has been named the North American Truck of the Year.  Similarly, the win for Cadillac marked the fifth such win for a General Motors vehicle.  The Dodge Ram 1500 won the award previously in 1994, but this was the first win for the Cadillac ATS.

About the Award

The North American Car and Truck/Utility of the Year awards were initially inspired by Europe’s “Car of the Year” awards and have now been given out at the North American International Auto Show (NAIAS) for the last 20 years.  Domesticautomakers have taken home 11 North American Car of the Year awards and thirteen North American Truck of the Year awards. European automakers have won in the Car category four times and in the Truck/Utility category three times.  The rest of the awards were won by Japanese automakers or South Korea’s Hyundai.

This post was contributed by Lynch Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram

Digg this!Add to del.icio.us!Stumble this!Add to Techorati!Share on Facebook!Seed Newsvine!Reddit!Add to Yahoo!

Leave a Reply:

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Comments links could be nofollow free.

Social Widgets powered by AB-WebLog.com.

  Copyright ©2010 Auto Factory Service Repair Manuals, All rights reserved.| Powered by WordPress| Gandhi theme by Techblissonline.com